the inevitable rise and liberation of niggytardust!

Après Weezer, les Smashing Pumpkins, Dj Shadow & Zach de la Rocha, et tant d’autres, mais surtout récemment Radiohead , c’est au tour de Saul Williams d’offrir son nouvel album, produit d’ailleurs par Trent Reznor (qui avait entamé le même genre de processus avec son Year Zero en distribuant les MP3 avant sa sortie directement aux fans à travers son Jeu de Réalité Alternée)

L’album, comme expliqué dans le communiqué, est dispo pour son achat symbolique en “haute-définition” en quelque sorte (en FLAC – sans perte due à la compression MP3 quoi) , et d’une qualité moindre pour ceux qui décident de le télécharger gratuitement (mais là, peu feront la différence au regard de tous les MP3 en circulation de piètre qualité).

Pour télécharger l’opus :
Plus d’infos :


Track Listing:

  • Black History Month
  • Convict Colony
  • Tr(n)igger
  • Sunday Bloody Sunday
  • Break
  • NiggyTardust
  • DNA
  • WTF!
  • Scared Money
  • Raw
  • Skin of a Drum
  • No One Ever Does
  • Banged and Blown Through
  • Raised to be Lowered
  • The Ritual

Les communiqués complets :

New York, NY, October 25, 2007: The FADER Label, the recording branch of The FADER, today announced the release of the new recording by esteemed poet, artist and musician Saul Williams: The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust!. Produced by Trent Reznor (Nine Inch Nails), the download will be available for free or for a $5 contribution to support the artist. There will be no additional options given for purchase of the album.
Musicane, a tool that enables artists to sell their music, will handle fulfillment, processing, bandwidth and customer service. Those who pay will have the opportunity to choose between three download formats: 192kbit/s MP3, 320kbit/s MP3 and Free Lossless Audio Codec (FLAC), a format that doesn’t remove any information from the audio stream—full CD quality. A full description of each file format with pros and cons will be available on the site. Those that don’t contribute will automatically get the192kbit/s MP3. All versions are 100% DRM free and will include a PDF with artwork and lyrics. Williams’ fans will also be able to embed Musicane’s viral player on their own blogs or profiles, which will broadcast live-updated video messages from NiggyTardust and also contain the option to download or buy the album.
The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust! is the lovechild of Trent and me,” says Williams. “The Niggytardust concept sets me free to do more on stage with costume, etc. than one might expect from a regular Saul Williams show. It allows me to put my theatre training to use. I’ve also thought long and hard about all the discussion surrounding racial epithets etc. and chose this title as a means of furthering the dialogue while also showing how creativity will outlive and outshine hatred of any kind.”
“Working on this project was a real pleasure. Saul was interested in breaking boundaries, crossing genres and defying expectations and we learned a great deal from one another in the process,” says Reznor. “After my own recent dealings with record labels we decided to release it directly to the fans. There are obvious similarities in how Radiohead just released their new record and the way we’ve chosen to. After thinking about this way too much, I feel we’ve improved upon their idea in a few profound ways that benefit the consumer.”